B&B Trieste - Bed and Breakfast in Muggia

A few kilometers from the center of Trieste is the small town of Muggia once enclosed with walls from which remain one tower (of the nine original), the East gate called Portizza, a nice lion of St. Mark on the external side and the residues of S. Ulderico door. There are two entrances to the town, one from the port of Piazza Marconi the other from the Portizza overlooking Via Dante: venturing in the village is it possible to discover small architectural jewels such as the Venetian house in Oberdan street, the fifteenth-century home in gheffo in Via Verdi 2, the Robba’s house overlooking the Mandracchio and many other buildings and churches three-fifteenth suggested by the presence of ancient coats of arms although now hidden in successive accommodations. By entering in the center from Marconi square the view reveals a typical Venetian scenery: the city hall, rebuilt in 1852 and later in 1934 retains the old Rector's Palace which was built in 1444 by the Podestà Giacomo Loredan as mentioned in the inscription engraved under the lion of Saint Mark; the book is closed as usual for the cities near the border or in war danger.

B&B near Muggia old town

See all the accomodations en BNB Trieste

See all B&B

Points of interest near Muggia old town